Tags

, , ,

 

Choose a view onto the world. Decide how much of the interior you wish to include and where the main focus of the picture will be.

dsc_0002

My initial thoughts for this exercise, apart from the fact that I am glad to be inside as its freezing at the moment, were to move about he house and do some thumbnails of the views from various windows.  Reflecting on these:

  • Many of the windows in my house have lead diamonds….how am I going to cope with these, do I include or ignore completely.
  • At the moment it’s snowing so it’s not ideal. I may have to wait for it to melt, in the meantime work on tonal studies etc,
  • using my front windows from the dining room will be easier in terms of set up and the other rooms will interfere with “life”
  • No 1 thumbnail is dull, just using the window as a frame…really need to use more of the inside as a contrast.
  • 3,4 & 5 I like using an angle, it takes you more into the picture.
  • 3 initially is a little boring, but perhaps a linear approach would be interesting here.
  • 4 & 5 increase the angle of the window?
  • 4 hubby’s car is a little too dominant..he’ll have to park differently if I choose this one!

 

Taking the view from our patio window (as there is no leading on this window) from the thumbnail I had identified that this view could be quite a linear picture, doing it  quickly in felt tip over watercolour it’s becoming almost abstract.  The second picture is at a friend’s house, painted quickly in acrylic.  Then immediately again, below in a watery acrylic on a textured paper.

 

I used a wide flat brush and just let it make the marks holding it very loosely.  After that I added the window frame in white acrylic which sadly lost the top of the tree.  But this made me think that the view works better if it’s not so tightly drawn. There is an almost stencil like effect going on here.

dsc_0006-1

 

I went back to the first view with a white gel pen and black cartridge paper.  There is something drawing me to this view.  The  eye follows the strong  downward line of the frame of the window with light on one side and then goes diagonally left and up and then diagonally right and up, almost like an inverted number 4.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking back at the brief we are asked to briefly look at the work of Raoul Dufy.

raoul-dufy-la-fene%cc%82treraoul-dufy-interieur-a-la-fene%cc%82tre-ouverteraoul-dufy-la-fee-electricite-v

The first painting of the three above is entitled La Fenetre. A view through a window to a beach and sea.  It looks like very basic coloured grounds have been laid down and then drawn on with paint in a simplistic style using only one or two colours. With the third painting the colour underneath the drawing delineates areas but is not so precise and the drawing sometimes crosses the colour.  The picture below, entitled Open Window illustrates this better, if you thought the line went on first it would look like a child’s attempts to keep within the lines.2025_3165717.jpg

Bearing this style in mind I go back to my view through my patio window.

dsc_0016

As an experiment and due to drying times with oil paint I started three versions at once.  The central pic I washed over with an ochre and started in with quick loose brush work, fairly muted pallet.  The version to the right I wondered if I just started with the shapes as opposed to lines and the version to the left I was consciously thinking of brightening the colours and just blocking in some large ground shapes.

dsc_0017

 

Taking the picture on the left I then started drawing over with a dark blue, not wishing to use black.  I have not chosen a thin enough  brush, but was committed once I realised this. I have deliberately not gone to the edge of the paper giving it a sketchy appearance.

 

 

 

IMG_1922.jpg

 

Final picture.

  • Quite graphic looking, flat appearance as I have used no tone as in the Raoul Dufy paintings
  • Using the drawing over method, the brush chosen was too thick.
  • Only realistic part is the window frame which really divides the outside from the inside.
  • Interesting that I returned to the thumbnail that I had thought at first I would ignore.
  • Curtains very unsuccessful.
  • Exaggerated the colours in reality it was a very dull brown/grey scene.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

References:

https://www.wikiart.org/en/raoul-dufy

