Tags

, , ,

During my report from my first assignment my tutor suggested that I take a look at Sigmar Polke.

From research:

  • German Artist, a contemporary of Gerhard Richter.
  • Early career….Launched his own genre ‘Capitalist Realism” as a reaction to Pop Art.He and fellow artist painted everyday objects in a very simple form.
  • Mixes other genres in his own work.
  • Throughout his career highly experimental.  Unpredictable, always finding new methods of creating mixing, painting, photography, film, sculpture, drawing printmaking etc.
larger

Watchtower in the Eifel region 1987

Made with Acrylic and Lacquer on Cotton, the layering of different techniques creates a depth to the picture. You are looking through the colours and splashes to the ink drawing, or is the ink drawing on top of the colour. You can also see through the fabric  and can also see the picture frame as if looking through a window.

8-sigmar-polke-freundinnen1

Girlfriends.

This painting was made my projecting a photograph and blowing it up very large and meticulously copying the dots from the photo onto a canvas.  When I first saw this style I thought it just a photo.  Up close you can see that the artist has left the splodges that may have occurred during the painting. It does put me in mind of Lichtenstein, although his works were more pristine and comic like.  This feels softer on the eye  and  has a nostalgic feel.

What I get from looking at Sigmar Polke is that anything goes. Experimentation is the key.

I went of and experimented………….

DSC_0082

 

Taking one of my papers that I had smeared on my pallett before cleaning up, I drew an invented townscape, using a fine green felt tip.  Perhaps this would have been better in black.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then scanning  another sheet into the computer I layered on a profile face and merged the two…I quite like what happened here and I managed to position it so that the swipes on the pallet lined up with the eyelid.polke photoshop 1a

 

Rotated and cropped

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0084

 

 

And finally tried dotting in a face.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

References:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/obituaries/culture-obituaries/art-obituaries/7825072/Sigmar-Polke.html

http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/sigmar-polke-2213

https://www.moma.org/interactives/exhibitions/2014/polke/

https://www.artsy.net/artwork/sigmar-polke-watchtower-in-the-eifel-region

http://www.tate.org.uk/context-comment/video/tateshots-sigmar-polke

