Tags

, , ,

DSC_0039

For this assignment produce a finished painting at least A3, in your chosen medium. A still life, landscape or interior….your painting should be representational rather than abstract.

Thinking through and deciding in my sketchbook I decided on a still life, simply as the weather is bad so outside is difficult and I’m not sure of the rules on using photos at the moment.  I selected my objects mainly based on the colours which I found pleasing together.

I then did a few tonal sketches to decide on positioning,

My first group, a bit dull as all in a row and, although cant be seen in this sketch the bag of crips in a bowl, relevant to the wine but dull colour wise.  Inspiration to add the watermelon give a nice zing of colour, but the objects were still in a row.  Finally realised I could move myself !!!!! not just he objects …so sat a the side of them giving a more pleasing view.

DSC_0020

 

Setting up to get a descent amount of light , very dull weather gave very little light to accentuate the tones, so I added a lamp.

 

I chose to work in acrylics as I had only just attempted oils in the last exercise and it was still drying after a week, and I was impatient to get on.  Working on A2 Acrylic pad, textured slightly, I drew in the main shapes and applied washes just to get rid of the white. The thought of a coloured ground did cross my mind but I wasn’t sure how the colours would react.

Building up from the background, the adding the melon and bottle, I began to realise how difficult blending with the acrylics was, they dried sooooo quickly!

DSC_0029

 

At the point I added the corkscrew I realised my shadows behind the bottle had been wrong and that the fabric was suspended in mid air so began to correct these.

 

 

 

 

DSC_0041 (1)

The final painting, looking at this again I can see all the errors, such as the shoulders of the bottle not being even heights and he top of the corkscrew being wonky.

However, over all I am fairly pleased, I know there’s lots to improve on…

Lessons Learnt

  • Acrylics – dry ridiculously fast.
  • This causes blending problems.
  • Standing back regularly, and actually leaving the room for a while gave me a fresh eye on the painting.
  • Working in short spurts also suits me, if something isn’t going well I can get frustrated which leads to more errors.
  • The initial sketches helped with the positioning and the realisation that I should move my viewpoint, not just the objects.
  • The dark wine bottle was difficult as it sucked up the light.
  • Working with acrylics needs practice….stating the obvious I guess.
  • The objects with strong colour can reflect this onto other objects as in the red label on the corkscrew.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

