Tags

, ,

DSC_0071

Using white to make a tonal wash, photographed next to the one that was made with just water.

This was more difficult, especially with the acrylic paint drying so quickly.

 

DSC_0072

Second attempt this time going from crimson through to Cadmium, photographed next to the original done with water.  I have used thicker paint with he opaque colour mixes.

DSC_0074

Above I have tried to repeat the washing from one colour to another using white, here photographed next to the orignal again. This made it harder to get a strong sense of the two colours mixing.

 

I have learnt

  • Acrylic needs a retardent of some sort or work has to be done very fast. These did have a little retardent added, but even then it was tricky.
  • The opaque mixes mute the colour – not sure that I like this at all.
  • You can work over acrylic again and again.

 

Transparanent mixes/washes maybe for more ‘natural’ areas such as sky/water etc and the opaque makes for a more solid look.  At this stage when I have done little actual painting, I find it difficult to determine where they would be best used.

